My Birthday Weekend

23529787055_de14e0c05f_o
i spotted Olde St. Nick.. for a second. and He was gone
23545174925_e92f830484_o
checking in at our lovely Inn..South Landing INN located in Queenston,Ontario

as you get older ,you learn to buy your own things.. well i do anyway, so on my birthday, for the last few years, my Husband takes me on an over-niter somewhere, since it is winter, and the last few winters have been agonizingly brutal, we tend to stay inside New York State, but this years its been mild, so we went on a 2 hour jaunt ..over the border to Ontario Canada .Β  to Niagara on The Lake

Niagara played a central role in the War of 1812. Niagara was taken in the Battle of Fort George by American forces after a two-day bombardment by cannons from Fort Niagara and the American Fleet, followed by a fierce battle. Later in the war the town was razed and burnt to the ground by American soldiers as they withdrew to Fort Niagara. Undaunted by this setback, often referred to as the “burning of Newark,” the citizens rebuilt the town after the war, with the residential quarter around Queen Street and toward King Street, where the new Court House was rebuilt using material from the firing range of the cannons at Fort Niagara.[5] In 1859 the town built its first public school, Niagara Public School.[6]

there’s so much History here, here’s just a taste. the reason we go, (and avoid Niagara falls) its so quaint, and NOT glitzy,people are friendly. so here we go, the day we arrived, and as i usually not out at nite.. i was this past week end:0 , so ill be back. and if you stopped by.. thanks, and have a wonderful day

29 comments

    • Lol thank you Filmfunkle, I wish I could take credit for the blur on Santa;), theses photos were all shot with my phone , and He’s the only one who came out like that.. And he did an amazing vanishing act, I couldn’t even get another shot of him ;(! Thanks for stopping by . Glad u like my idea too β€οΈπŸ‘

      Liked by 1 person

      • So, did he even know you were taking his picture? It’s a great photo either way and, btw, you can call me Tim – I won’t bite, promise. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol I’ll Try to remember Tim, sorry , everyone I’d stop to remember your name… I’d draw a blank?? β€οΈπŸ˜‚ . No He didn’t know, . So I’m lucky πŸ˜‰ I have one .
        Thanks again Tim 😘🍻

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I am envious.
    Niagara looks and sounds idyllic, and in the middle of a hectic period at work I’d give my right arm for a break like this.
    I’m glad it was everything you’d hoped for.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

